top of page

Hong Kong - A whirlwind 2-day adventure - A personal travelogue

Discover the Best of Hong Kong - Culture, Cuisine and Nature

This well-curated itinerary explores Hong Kong's blend of heritage and modernity over two memorable days.


Weather: Between May to September's warm and humid climate, expect temperatures ranging 25-32°C. Light layers and sun protection are recommended for outdoor activities. Hong Kong's public transport network is efficient so you can maximize your time exploring.

Through well-paced cultural discoveries and leisurely enjoyment of this vibrant finance hub's best attractions and flavors, your holiday will leave you with unforgettable memories and wishing to return again soon!






Flight: Check Here

Day 1: A Taste of Hong Kong's Charm

My journey began at Hong Kong International Airport, where I was greeted by the city's vibrant energy. After a quick 1-hour transfer to my hotel, Eaton HK Hotel, I checked in and dropped my bags.


Morning: The first stop was Yat Tung Heen Cantonese Restaurant,(map) a Michelin-starred gem. I indulged in the exquisite honey-glazed seafood taro puffs, smooth custard buns, and succulent barbecued pork, all for around HKD 300.

Recommended: Dim Sum (Variety of small dishes), Double Boiled Soup (Nutritious and flavorful), Fresh Seafood (Cooked in traditional Cantonese style)


A 15-minute later, I found myself at the iconic Tsim Sha Tsui Clock Tower (map), a symbol of Hong Kong's colonial past.

Recommended: Visit nearby Victoria Harbour and Star Ferry Pier


I spent a leisurely hour exploring the nearby 1881 Heritage (map), a beautifully preserved Victorian-era complex, and Harbour City (map), a bustling shopping haven. (Cost: HKD 300-500)


Lunch: I grabbed a quick and delicious lunch at Star Cafe (map)

enjoying their famous tomato beef noodles and thick toast for around HKD 150. Around 16 mins walk from Harbour City.

Recommended: Tomato Egg Noodles, Pork Chop Bun, Milk Tea, Egg Sandwich,

Pineapple Bun, Hong Kong Style French Toast


Afternoon: After a short break at the hotel, I embarked on a scenic journey to The Peak, (map) the city's highest point. A 1-hour tram ride took me to the top, where I was greeted by breathtaking panoramic views.

Recommended: Peak Tram Ride - Experience the steep ascent to The Peak with the iconic Peak Tram, offering spectacular views of the city. Sky Terrace 428: Stand on Hong Kong’s highest outdoor viewing terrace for panoramic views across the city. Madame Tussauds: Get up close with wax figures of celebrities at Madame Tussauds Hong Kong.


I spent the afternoon exploring the Peak Galleria, (map)

indulging in a delightful sushi dinner at DON DON DONKI, and savoring the vibrant atmosphere of the Sky Terrace. The total cost for the tram, attractions, and dinner was around HKD 400.


Evening: As the city lights twinkled, I ventured into the bustling Temple Street Night Market, (map)

a sensory overload of street food, fortune tellers, and unique souvenirs. I enjoyed a variety of local snacks, including iced pudding, curry fish balls, and siu mai, for around HKD 100.

Recommended: Street Food: Indulge in local street food favorites like steamed buns and curry fish balls., Dai Pai Dong: Experience authentic Hong Kong dining at open-air food stalls., Fortune Telling: Explore the tradition of fortune telling.


Day 2: Cultural Delights and Shopping Spree

Morning: My second day began with a hearty breakfast at DIMSUM KITCHEN, (map) where I savored their signature shrimp dumplings noodles and century egg congee for around HKD 75.

Recommended: Char Siu Bao: Fluffy steamed buns filled with barbecued pork, a staple in dim sum cuisine. Har Gow: Delicate steamed shrimp dumplings, known for their translucent wrappers and juicy filling.


Afternoon: Next, I journeyed to the Hong Kong Palace Museum, (map)

30 mins from the breakfast shop, a magnificent architectural masterpiece showcasing the city's rich cultural heritage. The entrance fee was HKD 60, and I spent a fascinating hour exploring the museum's impressive exhibits.

Recommended: View National Treasures: Admire 166 grade-one objects classified as national treasures, including rare paintings and imperial jade seals. Explore Galleries: The museum features nine galleries showcasing themes from life in the Forbidden City to Chinese art and culture.


Lunch: I took a 1-hour journey to Stanley Main Street, (map)

a charming seaside town known for its vibrant market. I enjoyed a delicious lunch at a local restaurant, savoring fresh seafood and local delicacies for around HKD 250. I then spent the afternoon exploring Stanley Market, a treasure trove of souvenirs and local crafts.

Recommended: Visit Murray House: A historic colonial building with beautiful sea views and an interesting history of relocation and preservation. Shop at Stanley Market: Browse through a variety of shops offering everything from traditional Chinese crafts to modern clothing.


Evening: My final stop was Causeway Bay (Around 48mins from Stanley), a bustling shopping district. I indulged in a delightful dinner at Kokon - Japanese Restaurant, (map) where I enjoyed creative rolls, sashimi, and A4 Wagyu beef for around HKD 500. I then spent the evening browsing the shops at Hysan Place, (map) SOGO Department Store. (map)

Recommended: Special Sushi Rolls: Unique and creative sushi rolls that are a favorite among patrons.


Departure: My two-day adventure came to an end, leaving me with a heart full of memories and a longing to return. The city's vibrant energy, diverse culture, and delectable cuisine had left an unforgettable mark.

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL - Get the Most updated!

Thanks for submitting!

© 2024 by GuideUTravel. 

bottom of page